013A – Breaking Noon: Part One

13 Jan

Continued from here: https://365storychallenge.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/012-solar-flare/

Breaking Noon Part One

By Thedude3445

This was it. Hi, I’m Josh Stewart. Apparently, my soul is like, the most powerful in the entire universe or something? No idea what that really means, but whatever. Turned out my girlfriend Trixie was actually assigned by Satan to kill me and bring him my soul. Not only that, but she killed my parents and was now bringing the armies of every mythical monster ever, as well as Satan himself, over here to British Columbia to duel over my fate! She was gone after I screamed her into submission, but that wasn’t gonna stop the final battle. Ivanna, the succubus that was also trying to steal my soul, had finally left and stopped her annoying ranting about us getting married, so I was now alone in the woods, just outside the city.

Several hours passed. I sat there, leaning against a tree, thinking about all of this. I still loved Trixie; that was definitely true. But she had just completely ruined my life for her own selfish causes, and I had next to nothing left to live for. I thought about suicide, but I wasn’t that kind of guy. I needed to face this problem head-on, no matter how fruitless it would be.

I stood up and noticed how empty this forest was. It had always been this way, but you hadn’t actually thought about it until now. There were few to no animals, and the only plants besides the trees were a couple shrubs here and there, and a little bit of grass. Why was this?

Long and hard did I think about my life. It was mostly normal, but I realized how different it always seemed from the lives of whom I saw on television and in movies. I were always so… pampered. There wasn’t a moment in time when I needed something and actually had to get it myself. And my friends… Well, they were just so fake. It was as if I was being protected my whole life, and hadn’t figured it out until it was finally pointed out to me. And it was true. Why else would I have suddenly had family in British Columbia who needed to take me in, who I had never even heard of before now?

It hit me what I was. Why my soul was so powerful, and why people had gone to such lengths to protect me and such effort to destroy me. I really was important. I was the most important person of them all. And it was my mission to destroy those who wished to harm me. Trixie and Ivanna could try to help me, but I would refuse it. It was my duty to fulfill, and mine alone.

I headed back into town. It was empty and desolate, as it always was, and as I had always shrugged off as another boring day in a boring place until now. Its being my safest haven was lost to me, but now I could see how well-structured this place is. There was no way in or out without having to go through the main entrance, or having to fly overhead. This meant that many a monster actually could bypass the defenses, but I had confidence that none of them were the real problem; Satan was the important one.

I sat down in a chair inside the local tavern. It was empty, just as all the buildings seemed to always be, so my not being 21 didn’t really matter. I just needed a place to be for a minute to meditate. If my soul really was the strongest there was, then I could probably focus my mental energies to make it even stronger. So that’s what I did, I guess.

It was easy to think of things with great emotional strength. I was really regretting yelling at Trixie now that I realized my full potential. She probably knew it too, and that’s why she was so confident in her plan. My anger at myself was building itself into a firm rage that I could now harness… into… BAM! A chilling beam of ice burst forth from my hand, blowing a hole in the side of the tavern. It worked.

Then I thought about my love for Trixie. Three solid months together had left a lasting impact on me—she was The One. I had actually started thinking about asking her to marry me. Yeah, it seemed stupid now, but at the time, I really did feel that much devotion towards her, and I was pretty sure she felt the same way. This love began to resonate within me, and I felt every ounce of emotion flowing around me physically, taking the shape of bright white lights, floating in circles above my head. I grabbed them and hurled them outside through the side of the store, and when they exploded, they let forth a blinding nova, sparkling like the love that I felt for Trixie. They were so powerful that the dirt on the ground was catching fire, and I had to use an ice beam to put it all out.

It seemed that every single emotion I had was some form of magic that I could use, and there were hundreds to choose from, I learned in the two hours I spent experimenting. As long as I was able to focus on a single aspect of my life that was particularly strong, I could destroy anything that lay in my path. And I would.

It was sunset now. I could see the flames far off in the distance; the hordes of merciless creatures coming to kill me. Satan would soon show up too, though his entrance would be much less obvious, I knew. He was a trickster, and could take any form he pleased.

A few minutes later, and Ivanna showed back up, and just like she said, she brought quite a number of her Succubae sisters along with her. They too were craving my soul, but not for power; for literal glutton, as the Succubus race kept a diet solely of the souls of human beings. I would eventually eradicate them, too, but for now they were my allies.

“I’m back, Josh,” she told me.

“I know.” I already knew that; she had no reason to actually say anything, and neither did I. It wasn’t the time for talking anymore; the monster mob had arrived, with its first members being a couple Desert Imps. I took care of them in an instant, vaporizing them with all the greed I could muster.

A great battle began. Thirteen Succubae and I fought against over one million magical soldiers. Sure, some of the monsters were dueling each other to win me as their prize, but for the most part it was a coordinated effort. But my soul was not going to go without a fight, though they didn’t realize it until it was far too late.

By the time I destroyed my twelfth Troll, and my fourth Husk, I was getting a little tired of this. It was almost monotonous, destroying all these beings within seconds with the pettiest of emotions. In fact, I was so bored that I decided to end it all; I created the strongest sparks of love that I could, and tossed them into the sea of beasts, exterminating most all of them, with the survivors running away as quickly as they could. The Succubae went after the stragglers, ready for a late-night snack. I, however, went back home and retired to my bed.

I won. For now, at least. Satan was surely coming, so I took the extra time to rest, and prepare for my final confrontation with Old Scratch. It was going to be one to remember.

Part Two is forthcoming.

 

Continued here: https://365storychallenge.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/013b-breaking-noon-part-two/

3 Responses to “013A – Breaking Noon: Part One”

  1. Thedude3445 January 13, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

    I made the executive decision to split this final act of the story into two parts, despite the fact it definitely doesn’t deserve two parts, and was barely over two pages by the time I finished. I will be posting Part Two very soon, and it won’t count as 014 even if I don’t get it done until tomorrow.
    Tomorrow’s actual story is called “The Dream Accomplished”. It’s probably the last story I make before I finally actually make Joan and the Osmosis Tree, once and for all.

    In other writing news, I’m planning on revising a story I wrote back in November, December Draws Near, and publishing it on the Backblog. I may also change the title, as it isn’t as reflective of the story as it initially was when I began writing it. You will probably enjoy it, however, even if you hate my humor style.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 012 – Solar Flare « Thedude3445's 365-Story Challenge - January 13, 2013

    […] Continued here: https://365storychallenge.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/013a-breaking-noon-part-one/ […]

  2. 013B – Breaking Noon: Part Two « Thedude3445's 365-Story Challenge - January 13, 2013

    […] Continued from here: https://365storychallenge.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/013a-breaking-noon-part-one/ […]

Leave a comment