021 – Madoka Precure

25 Jan

[author’s note: you should watch puella magi madoka magica before reading this]

Hi! I’ve been watching several anime of this Winter 2013 season, and I have finally found one that I really like! The newest member of the Precure franchise is Madoka Precure, and in my opinion, it’s one of the best yet, as far as I’ve watched, at least.

Madoka Precure stars a young 8th grade girl named Madoka Kaname, who happens upon the cute ferret creature, Kutie! He’s being attacked by the dark magical girl, whose name is Cure Timestop, and Madoka saves him in the nick of time.

Kutie offers Madoka the ultimate prize for saving him; any wish she wants granted, any in the entire world, in exchange for becoming a magical girl. However, Madoka only wishes for her family to be happy, and as a result of her selfless wish, she becomes the ultra-powerful Cure Hope!

A picture of Cure Hope, the dopest magical girl this side of Otakuville!

Now she has to manage living a normal life and helping Kutie defeat the evil Walpurgisnacht, who has been turning all of Kutie’s other magical girls into evil witches in the last several months. Cure Hope is tasked with the mighty mission of helping turn each and every one of these witches back into a magical girl by destroying the evil curses inside of them.

Of course, she has a few friends to help her along the way, including:

Cure Mermaid, the ally of all justice. She’s Madoka’s best friend, and became a magical girl to save her good pal after he got in a bad car accident. She has a sweet blade, and has the best water elemental powers. Her demeanor usually is pretty sweet, but she can act a little silly at times.

And Cure Starlight. She’s a well-mannered young woman; one of the most polite you’ll ever meet. She’s never one to lose her head, and acts as the conscience of this magical girl group, despite Cure Hope being the true leader of the gang.

Together, these three magical girls make up Team Madoka Precure, though many other magical girls show up as guest stars, and some of them appear more frequently than others.

Speaking of recurring magical girls…

After defeating many different witches across this 52-episode series, they begin to learn the motives behind the mysterious Cure Timestop.

It turns out that this dark girl used to be one of the greatest magical girls that ever was. She defeated more evil villains for Kutie than anyone else, up until the day when Walpurgisnacht began to take her over as well. However, due to her time travelling powers, the witch infection affected her much differently than other magical girls. She began jumping randomly to various points in time, and when she got there, she had to stay for 30 days at a time. And during each of these, she would have to fight as hard as she could to stave off the witch side of her from finally taking over! But any time she made any progress in finally defeating this curse, she would warp to a new point in time and have to start all over.

Upon the discovery of this sad tale, Team Madoka Precure decide to help Cure Timestop out! It is a hard battle, and she almost gives in to the witch completely, but with the power of friendship, Cure Hope is able to turn the tides, and the four of them are able to defeat Walpurgisnacht for good!

Don’t get me wrong; Madoka Precure isn’t just another kiddie magical girl anime. There is some serious stuff in there! There’s a pretty long story arc where Cure Starlight herself is turned into a witch, and it takes several episodes for Cure Hope and Cure Mermaid to turn her back.

There are also some pretty cool fight scenes; the episode where Cure Mermaid goes head to head with the selfish and greedy Cure Firemaid is one of the coolest in the entire Precure series! And the final battle between Walpurgisnacht and Team Madoka Precure is one of the coolest ever, finally being able to see Cure Hope at her full potential.

Overall, I really love Madoka Precure. It doesn’t stray all too far from the magical girl formula, but it’s still one of the most fun experiences I’ve had in quite a while. Because of this, I’m greatly  looking forward to the next Precure series, Nanoha Precure! No details have been released other than the name, but I’m super excited for it. Until then though, I’ll be watching Madoka Precure over and over again!

Ciao!

13 Responses to “021 – Madoka Precure”

  1. Thedude3445 January 25, 2013 at 2:05 am #

    If you haven’t watched Puella Magi Madoka Magica, then I’m sorry for completely ruining your experience by making this. If you have, then I’m sorry for completely ruining your experience by making this. Basically, I’m sorry for making this, but it had to be done.

  2. Thedude3445 February 2, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    More commentary: I found this link on tumblr. I think it accurately depicts the difference in Precure and Madoka. http://shadowrep.tumblr.com/post/5425151995/gif-expectation-vs-reality-suite-precure-and-madoka

  3. Adrian Gecko March 14, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    I like the idea of this, but the names… are not the best. I always imagined Sayaka as Cure Knight or Cure Paladin and Kyoko as Cure Scarlet or Cure Rosso.

    Well, I guess I do not have a right to complain. It is rather interesting. I was looking for a Precure/Nanoha story, but this pretty cool too.

    • Thedude3445 March 14, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

      I’m gonna have to admit, I wrote this whole thing in ~20 minutes. The names probably could have been better. Did you get led to this article by my single mention of Nanoha at the end, though? Darn accidental SEOs. I swear, 90% of the views to either of my sites are from misleading search engine results.

      • Adrian Gecko March 14, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

        Is there anything wrong with that? After all, I became a fan of Precure after a random Internet search.

        I was looking for a Nanoha/Precure crossover of some kind. I was hoping to read about Nanoha Precure. Oh, and if you did come up with this in less than 20 minutes, then color me impressed.

      • Thedude3445 March 15, 2013 at 5:58 am #

        Nope, finding unexpected things from internet searches can be a great boon. That’s how I found Homestuck, TVTropes, and quite a few great anime series. Yeah, this was easy to write, though finding all the right pictures took a couple hours.

      • Adrian Gecko March 15, 2013 at 11:17 am #

        Do you think I can help you with Nanoha Precure? I really like the Wolkenritter!

      • Thedude3445 March 15, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

        Oh yes, definitely. Though I’ve only seen the first series of Nanoha myself; I’m waiting for the second movie to come out on DVD before I watch A’s (March 22!).But if you want to make it, I will link it here, and if you want to provide all the concept things, I could write either a review like this, or maybe even a full-blown story.

  4. Adrian Gecko March 15, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    The second season, A’s, is considered one of the best. The Wolkenritter are the antagonists. I recommend watching the A’s series though. The movie is going to cut out one of the most important parts: Admiral Gil Graham and his involvement.

    • Thedude3445 March 16, 2013 at 11:49 am #

      Well from my friends, I’ve heard that the first movie was actually a significant improvement over the series. I’m sure the second movie will be just as awesome, and if I like it enough, I will watch the series, and probably regret watching the movie first :V

      • Adrian Gecko March 16, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

        That is your personal preference, so I am perfectly fine with it.

      • Thedude3445 March 17, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

        It’s this weird thing I have about not wanting to watch the anime series of anything and watching the compilation movie whenever possible. I am always full aware of the fact that so much is cut out, but I do it anyway because I want to “save time” so I can spend more time doing other nonproductive things. I’ll probably get over it by the summer though. 😛

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 021 – Madoka Precure « Backblog - January 25, 2013

    […] 021 – Madoka Precure. […]

Leave a Reply

